Published On: Tuesday, September 3, 2019 | Source: NRNA NORWAY

This election Committee was formed by the National General Assembly (NGA) of NRNA, NCC-Norway held on 29th of June 2019 with a mandate to complete the election process and form a new executive committee of NRNA, NCC-Norway.  This committee initiated the election process immediately after its formation and published the following schedule.

• Filing of nomination for candidacy: July 18 – July 21, 2019 until 22:00-

• Announcement of the candidates-nomination list: July 22, 2019 by 22:00 hrs.

• Filing of complaints against candidates/voters and withdrawals by the candidates: July 23,  2019 until 22:00 hrs.

• Announcement of the final list of the candidates for election: July 25, 2019 by 22:00.

• Distance voting: July 26- August 30, 2019, received within 16:00

• Physical voting –August 31, 2019 in Oslo from 08:00-20:00 at NRNA NCC Norway¨s office (Selma Eleffsens vei 2)

• Final election results announcement: August 31/September 1, 2019


The Election Committee organized election for four positions only as other positions were filled by consensus or had no applicants. As per the schedule, the whole election process went smoothly with great interest and enthusiasm among the voters (both within and outside Oslo/Akershus) and the candidates. Of the total 644 voters/registered members, 93 casted their votes though distant voting while 457 casted their votes by physical voting on 31st of August, thus making the total casted votes 550. The physical election in Oslo was  remarkable and peaceful. This was thus a historical voting in NRNA Norway’s history. Ater the  completion of counting of all the casted and valid votes in the presence of representatives of the candidates, the Election Committee declared the following as a new Executive Committee of NRNA, NCC .Norway for the tenure 2019-2021. Then oath taking ceremony and certificate distribution ceremony were organized.


NCC Norway’s EC





Nayan Malla

by consensus

Vice- presidents from Oslo/Akershus

Jiban Bahadur Shahi

Kiran Gurung

by election

Vice- presidents from outside Oslo/Akershus

Pradip Adhikari


by election

General Secretary

Pabitra Basnet

by consensus





Anjan Banstola

by consensus

Joint treasurer



Women Coordinator

Goma Kumari Subedi

by consensus

Youth Coordinator

Narayan Thapa

by consensus

EC members

Anuj Upadhya

Deepak Paudel

Jib Nath Bhattarai¨

Pawan Acharya

Sagar Aryal

Siddhant Ghaley

by consensus, but there are still 5 vacant positions.


Representative from Norway to NRNA ICC

ICC Member                          Raju Aryal                              by election

We would like to use this opportunity to thank all the voters and registered members living all over Norway for your enthusiastic participation and support to the Election Committee.  We are also very grateful to all the candidates, the Acting Executive Committee of NCC Norway, ICC member, previous Election Committees, all the volunteers for your kind support and help in preparing and conducting this election. This would not have been possible without your constant support and good understanding during the past two months.  At the end, we would like to wish for the grand success and as said in Norwegian “Lykke til” to  the new Executive Committee   for your tenure 2019-2021.


Sincerely yours,

Dr Suraj B, Thapa           Coordinator

Prof. Bishal K, Sitaula,    Member

Nabaraj Gurung              Member

Manish Budathoki          Member

Santosh Baniya              Member


The Election Committee II

Non-Resident Nepali Association, National Coordination Council, Norway